June 27, 2016 - June 29, 2016

Critical perspectives on governance by sustainable development goals

University of Amsterdam

After two years of consultation with civil society and stakeholders around the world, heads of states, governments and high representatives met for a summit at the UN headquarters in New York from 25-27 September 2015. 17 Sustainable Development Goals with 169 associated targets were accepted by all participating countries.

They are committed to fully implementing these comprehensive, far-reaching and people centered goals by 2030 and hope to achieve sustainable development in its three dimensions; economic, social and environmental.

With an eclectic mix of lectures, discussions, debates and academic posters this three day conference will be an exciting opportunity to:

  • Pool together the rich expertise available in the social sciences and humanities and engage in meaningful and critical debates on important issues regarding sustainability.
  • Debate on the advantages and disadvantages of the SDGs and how these goals could be successful in mobilizing the world to transition to a more equitable and environmentally sustainable future.
  • Discuss and develop strategies for future research, teaching and actions that will emanate from the establishment of these goals, targets and indicators.
  • Bring together and discuss the knowledge that will be required for supporting the development and successful implementation of the goals, targets and their indicators as well as the processes by which these need to be researched and the possible implications for policy.
  • Develop a network of actors that are predominantly, but not solely, based in Amsterdam and actively interested in promoting the global transition to an equitable, inclusive and environmentally sustainable world.
  • Mobilize students to actively engage in understanding what the SDGs mean for their educational, professional and personal lives.

This conference is organized by the CSDS conference committee: Maarten Bavinck, Joyeeta Gupta, Michaela Hordijk, Mirjam Ros-Tonen, Nicky Pouw, Yves van Leynseele, Joseph Evans and Roos Groen.

Event Details